Hoax Got Your Status?
 

Remember those chain emails you used to get? Whatever happened to those? Well, they actually made their way to Facebook.

If you’ve been on Facebook for a while you may have seen or even posted a status like this:

“As of September 28 2015 8:50 pm Eastern standard time, I do not give Facebook or any entities associated with Facebook permission to use my pictures, information, or posts, both past and future. By this statement, I give notice to Facebook it is strictly forbidden to disclose, copy, distribute, or take any other action against me based on this profile and/or its contents. The content of this profile is private and confidential information. The violation of privacy can be punished by law (UCC 1-308- 1 1 308-1 1 308-103 and the Rome Statute).”

Or

“Now it’s official! It has been published in the media. Facebook has just released the entry price: $5.99 to keep the subscription of your status to be set to ‘private.’ If you paste this message on your page, it will be offered free (paste not share) if not tomorrow, all your posts can become public. Even the messages that have been deleted or the photos not allowed. After all, it does not cost anything for a simple copy and paste.”

Batman Meme

If you have seen something like this please do not re-post it. There is absolutely nothing that will change as a result.

Facebook even tried to warn you with an official status.

Facebook Status

Things like this have been around for years. A hoax is something that is used to trick you into believing something to be genuine when in reality is completely false. Some are used just for kicks and giggles but others may be used to hurt others. For example, words are very powerful and can be used for cyber bullying.

A hoax even might have you click on a certain link that will send a harmful virus to your computer. When you signed up for Facebook you agreed to certain Terms and that you read their Data Policy, which includes Cookie Use. These terms, after accepting cannot be changed with a simple status update.

Dwight Meme

You now might be wondering what you actually accepted about your privacy. Don’t worry, Facebook will never charge you or use your personal information without your consent.

Facebook Cost

Here is part of what you agreed to:

“You own all of the content and information you post on Facebook, and you can control how it is shared through your privacy and application settings.”

How to Recognize a Hoax

You might want to Google a couple sentences from the passage to see if it’s fake or you can check snopes.com for any internet rumors. You can also use these clues to figure out if it’s legit or not.

  • The Hook– They need something to real you in so it will be interesting enough for you to stop and read.
  • The Threat– In order for the post to be shared, there has to be something to scare you in to doing it. For example, the threat could be that your computer will crash if you don’t share.
  • Call to Action– They’re going to want you to spread the word so that they can target more people.
  • Results– You now are safe…

If you still aren’t sure if something is true, do not re-post it. It’s better to not spread. Instead, there is an option on Facebook where you can report something false. Simply click on the drop down arrow located on the right side of the post and click on “Report Post”.

Report Status

Secure Your Account

First, think about your Facebook friends for a second. Are you okay with all of them viewing the things you post online? Make sure you can trust those that are able to access your information before you post your whole life online.

Second, don’t post your whole life online. Make sure you think before you post something because more people than you might know could have access to it.

Last, try to keep a different password to every social media account that you have. I know it’s inconvenient but if one of your accounts gets hacked it won’t take long for all of the others to be as well.

Now let’s update your Privacy Settings:

Top right hand corner drop down > Settings

Top right hand corner drop down

Who Can See My Stuff? > Edit > Friends

Friends

Security > Login Alerts > Edit

Turning on this setting will notify you if anyone logs in to your Facebook using a new device.

login alerts

Security > Login Approvals > Edit

Turn this setting on if you want to make sure that no one logs in to your account without your approval.

login approvals

It will then ask you for a security code sent to your phone every time someone logs in to your account with a new device.

login approvals2

login approvals3

Apps > Logged in with Facebook

These apps have access to your personal information. You can remove them by clicking on the ‘X’ in the right hand corner of the app to protect that information.

apps

Apps > Apps Others Use > Edit

apps2

Uncheck all of the boxes > Save

apps3

apps4

The security of your privacy is an important thing not only to you but to your family and friends. By taking these steps of precaution it can help protect the personal information of a lot of people.

Nethosting cares about your safety and security and I hope that this has helped!

0 Comments

Leave a comment

Please fill out CAPTCHA * Time limit is exhausted. Please reload CAPTCHA.

*